What is the Adobe Premiere Razor Tool?

In this handy guide, we've shared the basic features of the Adobe Premiere Razor tool, so you can cut into video clips with a few mouse clicks. 

What is the Razor?
Essentially, the Adobe Premiere Razor tool allows you to split a clip in the timeline, without altering the clip's position. The clip itself is unchanged, but each of the clip segments have new In and Out points. You can find the Razor tool in Premiere's main Tools panel, or press the C key to select it. 

What is a Through Edit?
When you split a clip with the Razor tool, the resulting cut is called a "through edit". Marked with tiny white triangles that point to the cut, a through edit gives you the opportunity to rejoin the clip, because you haven't actually changed it yet. As soon as you move the split clips away from each other, however, the white triangles will disappear. 

Splitting a Clip
First, load your current Premiere project and select the Razor tool from the Tools panel. To split a full clip (audio and video), click on any clip in the sequence and a through edit will be created. If you're not happy with a cut you just made, press Ctrl+Z to undo it. 

Splitting an Audio Clip
Holding down the Alt key (Option key on Mac) and clicking on an audio clip with the Razor tool will isolate it from its associated video clip, splitting just the audio. Likewise, if you hold Alt and click on a video clip, only the video will be affected. 

Splitting Clips on Every Track
Premiere makes it easy to use the Razor tool on every track in your timeline simultaneously (except for locked tracks). First, lock any track that you don't want affected, and then hold down the Shift key and click anywhere with the Razor tool to split every unlocked track at the same point. 

Working with Through Edits
Once you've created a through edit with the Razor tool, you can show/hide the white triangular markers by choosing "Sequence" > "Show Through Edits". If you'd like to rejoin a split clip, click on the through edit to select it and then press the Delete key. You can also choose "Edit" > "Clear" from the top menu. 

  • Was this article helpful?

Can’t find what you’re looking for?